Halos create Adenhart, Gomez awards

Angels establish two new awards

ANAHEIM -- Before the start of Sunday's game against the Dodgers, the Angels announced they are establishing two awards honoring the memory of Nick Adenhart and Preston Gomez.

The Nick Adenhart Pitcher of the Year award will be given to the Angels pitcher whose Major League performance is selected by his teammates as the most outstanding throughout the course of the regular season.

The Preston Gomez Minor League Manager of the Year award will recognize one of the Angels' seven Minor League managers for a standard of excellence exhibited throughout the course of the season.

"It is important that the legacy of these two men and their impact within our organization be continued for years to come," Angels general manager Tony Reagins said.

Adenhart, who along with Courtney Stewart and Henry Pearson, was tragically killed in a traffic accident April 9 after pitching a strong six innings on April 8 against Oakland.

Along with the award, the Angels have and will continue to honor Adenhart the entire season with a black patch with his No. 34 above the heart of home and road uniforms.

Gomez, a Major League coach and special assistant to the general manager, was a part of the Angels organization for 28 years.

Both awards will be presented during pregame ceremonies in the final regular-season homestand each year.

Originally drafted by the Angels in the 14th round of the 2004 First-Year Player Draft, Adenhart began the 2009 season by making the Angels' Opening Day roster for the first time after a career 37-28 Minor League record.

Gomez, who passed away last January in Fullerton, Calif., devoted more than 65 years of his life to baseball as a player, coach, manager, talent scout and consultant.

"I can think of no more important manner of remembering these two men than by recognizing members of our baseball family in their honor," said Reagins.

Quinn Roberts is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.