Angels lose challenge, miss out on double play

Angels lose challenge, miss out on double play

ANAHEIM -- Angels manager Mike Scioscia lost his challenge in the third inning on Wednesday, when umpires didn't have conclusive evidence to overturn a call on a bang-bang play at first base.

Astros outfielder Alex Presley hit a comeback that Jered Weaver fired to second for a force out, then was ruled safe at first by umpire Quinn Wolcott, avoiding the double play.

After going to replay, umpires ruled that the call would stand. The Astros, however, did not score that inning.

Scioscia is now 6-for-13 in challenges this season. 

Alden Gonzalez is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Gonzo and "The Show", and follow him on Twitter @Alden_Gonzalez. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.